PDA

View Full Version : No bubbles, at all...

heykir456
01-23-2013, 05:43 AM
This is my first attempt at brewing anything. I wanted to try mead first because of it's relative ease (or so I thought) and apparently it's delicious, at least that's the general consensus at work. I'm having a bit of a problem and I looked for a similar issue but couldn't find one that fit my scenario, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

My recipe is as follows:

5 Lbs local honey
2.5 gallons spring water
1 packet Wyeast Sweet Mead 4184 Active Yeast
2 Tsp of yeast nutrient

I sanitized everything with campden tablets. I also brought the honey up to 150 degrees in a gallon of water and poured in the other 1.5 gallons to chill it before pitching the yeast. I waited until it was 70 degrees before I added the yeast. I shook it very well and made sure the airlock was nice and tight. It kind of bubbled at first, but after two days there was nothing, not even a little bubbling. The original specific gravity reading was .8 and the potential alcohol was 10% which is fine by me, I don't want something too strong because I might put some strawberries in for the secondary fermentation. I'm at a loss though as to why it isn't acting at all like it's fermenting. Am I missing something here?

LeedsBrewer
01-23-2013, 07:20 AM
Bubbles are never an accurate means of measuring fermentation. Read the following guide if you haven't done so already. Particularly chapter 15. which refers to nutrients and aeration

http://www.gotmead.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=blogcategory&id=108&Itemid=14

I'm sure someone with experience will be along soon to give you some good advice.

For first time brewers i always recommend simple juice wines such as: http://www.thehomebrewforum.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=10179

very easy and inexpensive.

psychopomp23
01-23-2013, 10:21 AM