PDA

View Full Version : Completely newbee, first batch not foaming.

Montead
02-07-2013, 03:34 PM
I am completely new to this. I have no one around me that I can research from but I am determined.
First batch of mead. I used the complete Mead maker book as a guide.
I had been researching that you didn't need energizer or nutrients so I didn't put it in initially.
Recipe:
15 lbs of raw alfalfa honey.
4 gallons of water.
Lavlin ec-1118 yeast. One package.
Followed instruction from Ken schramms book.

Temperature of 75deg f. when yeast added.
No idea how to read ph.
But s.g. Reading was 1.119
Week and a half later I am struggling to know if anything is happening.
Smells like yeast is present/active. (without seeing or smelling I am doubting myself)
I found out yesterday that I can maybe should be stirring daily.
Took reading yesterday and sg was 1.117 (maybe). Took again today and it does seem to be any different.
I also have heard you can add energizer/nutrients in stages so I added 1/2tsp of energizer.

I don't know where to go from here.
Should I just wait? Should I be seeing more activity? Should I reactive yeast activity???? HEEELLLLPPP. please!
Blundering in Canada.
Thanks in advance if anyone is out there that can help out.

fatbloke
02-07-2013, 04:13 PM
Your first "port of call" should be the yellow dialogue box on the left. The link to follow is "New Bee Guide".

Show meads (water, honey and yeast) are or can be a complete PITA. So it may be a case of walk before you try to run, just don't panic and dump it. Meads need patience and understanding.

And of course, welcome to the forums....

brian92fs
02-07-2013, 08:17 PM
Did you re-hydrate the yeast first or just dump the packet in? If you just dumped them in, then I'd suggest getting another packet and re-hydrating in water first and re-pitching. If you have a LHBS in your area, you might also consider picking up some GoFerm to re-hydrate the yeast in.