PDA

View Full Version : Fermentation Question About Wyeast 4632 Dry Mead

osirisob
02-19-2013, 03:23 PM
I am pretty new to mead making, and to home brewing in general.

I have made one batch of mead before, and I just got my second in the carboy (6 gallon glass). I used the same recipe for each, but changed the type of honey I was using for the second batch (the type I used before was not available).

My first batch turned out great after a year, so I have no complaints, but I wanted to learn more about what is going on with my fermentation, which is why I didn't put this in troubleshooting.

The recipe I used is a friend's, so I cannot divulge too much about it. I can tell you the following, though:

15 lbs honey - California Orange Blossom - first was a lighter variety
2 tsp yeast nutrient
Wyeast 4632 Dry Mead (http://www.northernbrewer.com/shop/cider-mead-sake/mead-making/mead-ingredients/wyeast-dry-mead.html)
Tap water - boiled and then chilled

The first time I made mead I boiled the honey, but this time I followed a different method outlined in "The Complete Meadmaker" and merely brought a gallon of water up to 150 degrees and added the honey, let it sit for 10 minutes at that temperature, and then combined it with refrigerated water. I am going to use the no-heat method for my next batch.

The first batch I made was very quiet in the carboy. It formed a slight foam on the top, but nothing significant at all (the must still showed through the foam in most areas). The most activity I got out of the airlock was a bubble every 2-3 seconds. This died down within a few days to a bubble every 10-12 seconds--then to one every minute. The best way I found to determine continued activity was to watch the surface of the mead for little bubbles jumping out of the must. I can best describe this as effervescence -- like bubbling champagne. I also did gravity readings, and it fell consistently - albeit slowly. I roused the yeast every few days.