• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Culture Yeasts

Barrel Char Wood Products

stagnant waters

NewBee
Registered Member
Feb 23, 2013
Chicago, IL
I'm a sourdough baker and new to mead making, so take this question with a grain of salt, but one of the things that I haven't come across is culturing yeasts for a particular type of honey; all the blogs that I've encountered use a new commercial strain of yeast for the mead that they like. Is there any reason not to make a starter of lalvin d47, for example, and feed it the particular honey and nutrients you have available over the course of a few weeks so that you have a strain acclimated to what your going to ferment? Has anyone done this or is it a waste of time?

akueck

Certified Mead Mentor
Certified Mead Mentor
Jun 26, 2006
Ithaca, NY