PDA

View Full Version : katzen piss

stagnant waters
03-31-2013, 12:58 PM
I just racked and sampled a cyser that's about a month old. It has a distinctly cat piss aroma and flavor like a sauvignon blanc. It's not bad, but it's not what I was expecting either. Where did the urine scent come from? Is it because of the raisins I added to the primary?

Apple Juice to 1 gal
Clover honey aprox 2.5 # to SG of 1.110
D-47 yeast
1/2 cup raisins
DAP and energizer
Temp 65 degrees

I didn't feed it until after the lag period was over. I aerated everyday until the 1/3 break and followed the usual SNA protocol. It finished at 1.004 in 16 days. Since the yeast was D-47 I didn't rack it until 30 days.

I humbly thank you in advance for your thoughts.

bigdan110
03-31-2013, 11:21 PM
check ur dap/energiser some contain urea. im still a noob but i can see a possible connection. cat pee-urine-urea :confused:

...... some strong cloudy scrumpy ciders can have this sort of oder/taste but its from wild yeast id guess it would be an of flavour from stressed wild yeast ? was the juice fresh pressed ?

stagnant waters
04-01-2013, 12:16 AM
It was pasteurized, so no wild yeast in the juice. I thought about the DAP, too, but I made a couple of gallons of "4 week cyser" at the same time with the same juice, D47 and nutrients and it doesn't taste ANYTHING like this. The 4 week is very mellow with no hint of cat piss. I even boiled the raisins before adding them to the must, so I don't think there would be contamination there. The big differences between the two were the length of fermentation and the addition of the raisins. I'm stumped.

bigdan110
04-01-2013, 01:00 AM
did you taste that juice before hand? might just be a weird funky batch of juice ?

RachmaelBenApplebaum
04-01-2013, 02:30 AM