PDA

View Full Version : Batch Progress

MitchSmit
04-04-2013, 05:41 AM
Folks,

Here is where I stand thus far on my second batch of mead I have ever made. Please let me know if there is anything I should keep in mind/prepare for. I appreciate any advice very much. I wanted to make a basic batch using only what I needed to get a full flavor from the honey. Again I am very new to this still.

5 Gal. Carboy
12.5 lbs of local clover honey
4-5 gallons distilled water
D-47 yeast
Fleischmanns Bread Yeast
DAP Nutrient
Yeast Energizer

Here is what I did:
I warmed up the distilled water and added 2 gallons to the carboy. I then added the honey and shook the living crap out of it until the honey was well blended with the water.

(side note: I did not want to boil the water/honey in order to keep it simple and keep flavor notes of honey, this ok?) Also, I sanitized everything well.

I then added the rest of the water, added about 2 teaspoons of energizer/DAP mix and shook some more. I let it sit for a few minutes and then pitched the D-47.

Why do I have 2 yeasts listed you ask? Well, being new and inexperienced I made a (possible) mistake and was impatient when pitching the D-47. The yeast itself did not look all that healthy/active when I was preparing it so after I pitched it I also added a packet of Fleischmanns Yeast to the must out of desperation. That means I ended up adding 2 packets of yeast to it. Did I screw up doing this?

After about 4 hours the airlock showed a lot of activity. It looked and smelled great after 3 days. On the 4th day after pitching I gave the must a couple of healthy swirls and added about 2 teaspoons total of DAP/Energizer mix. I aerated the whole thing again for about 3 minutes and plugged her back up. The airlock showed that it kick-started the yeast a bit and still bubbling away on the 5th day now.

Questions: