PDA

View Full Version : Debating Making Peach Melomel

maxmurder
04-22-2013, 03:55 PM
Hi,
I've been on this forum for awhile, but this is my first post.
I've made a few batches in the past, but I recently started brewing more, trying to get better batches.

Anyhoo, I was debating making my most recent batch, which I brewed today into a peach melomel, but I have a few questions:

First, if I'm looking to get a 5 gallon batch of sweet melomel, how much honey/fruit would you recommend. I'm looking for a medium fruit flavor and most sources seems to point to 8-10 lbs of fruit. I was going to add the fruit to the secondary fermenter. I started the batch with 17 lbs of orange blossom honey. I wasn't sure when making a melomel, if I should use less honey. If This is too much honey, I can just go with traditional sweet for this batch and use peaches in the next.

Also, how do you feel about using frozen fruits as opposed to fresh. Sometimes fresh is hard to come by out of season and I know people have varied opinions about frozen vs fresh. I would go with fresh if available.

As I said, I used 17 lbs of orange blossom honey, 1 pack of Lalvin 71B, 5 tsp of nutrient, 2.5 tsp of energizer and used the boil method.

Any opinions are welcome, cause I'm still a newbie trying to get it right!
Thanks.

celticgladiator
04-22-2013, 06:41 PM
never tried peach but now want to try a gallon batch of peach/cinnamon JAOV to see how it would come out. I love the flavor of peach so I'm thinking good things.

maxmurder
04-22-2013, 07:03 PM
One of the best homemade meads I've ever tried was a peach melomel a friend made. If mine comes out half as good, I'd be happy.

Medsen Fey
04-23-2013, 12:49 PM
Frozen fruit can work just fine. If you add the peach to secondary it will keep more of the "fresh peach" rather than "fermented peach" character which you may prefer. Also keeping it a little sweet may help the fruit flavor be more recognizable.

maxmurder
04-23-2013, 01:44 PM