PDA

View Full Version : mead size?

Relic ranger
05-01-2013, 06:14 AM
hey everyone ,
so my first batch is brewing (3 weeks) and im already looking up more honeys,spices,recipes,etc.The more i read the measurement of the recipes they don't make sense. Let's say for a three gallon batch,how can someone use three gallons of water with 6 1/2 -10 pounds of honey and all ingredients and what not and fit into a three gallon carboy?????????impossible

I personally use a food grade bucket for primary and then rack into the carboy what is ever left i toss it .i know this is not how the more seasoned brewers do it. As i am still just a total newb i dont understand !

If i use a larger carboy then what is needed then i will have a huge surface area and large head space.... this is bad no? :confused:

fatbloke
05-01-2013, 07:23 AM
hey everyone ,
so my first batch is brewing (3 weeks) and im already looking up more honeys,spices,recipes,etc.The more i read the measurement of the recipes they don't make sense. Let's say for a three gallon batch,how can someone use three gallons of water with 6 1/2 -10 pounds of honey and all ingredients and what not and fit into a three gallon carboy?????????impossible
So you start with the honey, then make it up to 3 gallons in a bucket. Take a gravity reading to make sure it's not stupidly high and likely to cause fermentation issues/difficulties (I like to start my batches at no higher than 1.120 - sometimes it maybe a little higher but usually about there)

I personally use a food grade bucket for primary and then rack into the carboy what is ever left i toss it .i know this is not how the more seasoned brewers do it. As i am still just a total newb i dont understand !
A good practice to get into.....buckets usually give more flexibility in modifying ferments, as well as aeration and other things that may cause issues.