PDA

View Full Version : Why bother with yeast?

Frnic
05-07-2013, 04:48 PM
I am a newb and this is bound to be dumb, but here goes...

I have been reading various posts here that describe the method to recover from over sweet batches is to add vodka to raise the % ABV.

I have also read here in several posts that the way to recover from dry batches (if you want sweet) is to back sweeten. In fact, because of the "problem" with not being able to stop fermentation before the yeast is ready to stop, back sweeten seems to be a planned method of making sweet mead.

So, if I combine the two methods, it seems that I could just eliminate the yeast all together and by mixing the proper amounts of water, vodka (ethanol) and honey, I could make a "traditional" mead ...

I assume this is a BAD idea, and I assume the reason is that the yeast is in fact an active contributor to the final taste...

Comments or suggestions?

Frank

Marc F.
05-07-2013, 06:01 PM
So, if I combine the two methods, it seems that I could just eliminate the yeast all together and by mixing the proper amounts of water, vodka (ethanol) and honey, I could make a "traditional" mead ...

I assume this is a BAD idea, and I assume the reason is that the yeast is in fact an active contributor to the final taste...

Comments or suggestions?

Frank

First of all,
Mead is a fermentation of honey. The yeast is supposed to burn the sugars in the honey to alcohol.

second:
Vodka is distilled. You will never get that amount of alcohol in a mead.
meads can range from about 6% to 20% alcohol.

So, mixing vodka with honey doesn't make a traditional mead.
It's all about the fermentation of honey by a yeast.

Just my 2 cents......

Marc.

SilentJimbo
05-07-2013, 06:02 PM
This is a bit simplified, but: