PDA

View Full Version : Dissolved C02 In The Mead

eimer
05-15-2013, 04:44 AM
Hello everyone,

I am a beginner. Here is my very early experiences.

1st batch was just traditional mead with raisins, it was unsuccessfull, i faced and ended it up after 40 days and there was sock smell :) I think it is because of the raisins which i bought from an open air local market.

2nd batch is traditional mead. It has been 1 week since i racked it after 30 days of fermentation. It is still very slowly fermenting. I am waiting some bentonite to try to clear and bottle it after 2 months will be completed. It tastes totally diffrent and better then 1st one.

3rd batch is apple cinnamon mead with my own methods. It is fermenting very good for 6 days.

I use flower honey, i use bakers yeast, i use the basic recipe calculations on this site.

I am using silicone air hoses for air lock, i am using hot glue gun for sealing everything.

I have a result about the dissolved CO2 in the mead after these small experiments :
When a used a small diameter and long hose (between the cork and the jar). After i noticed there were a lot of dissolved CO2 in the mead. The inner diameter of the hose was 4mm.

In second batch i used 10mm diameter very short hose and there was more more less dissolved CO2 in the mead.

I think is it about the pressure resistance of your CO2 release system. Because if CO2 has a resistance for releasing there will be gas pressure in your fermenter. Under that pressure CO2 will dissolve in your mead. And may be it will take time to get clear.

I would like to learn what do you think ?

By the way everybody says that 30 seconds one bubble or something to understand that first fermentation is over, but it is again all about your batch volume and CO2 release diameter.

All the best...

kuri
05-15-2013, 06:17 AM