PDA

View Full Version : Sanitation

Womack
05-18-2013, 06:44 PM
have a question regarding Idophor

Now I have been using this stuff for at least 2 years and I am very happy with the results.

In my used of it over the years I have noticed that the color of the fluid in my sanitizing bucket tends to fade over time. and If I am doing all grain beer or another very Long brew I have to freshen the bucket with a little more of the chemical. I am told that the reason is iophor is unstable and when exposed to UV it Breaks down in to salts and water.

I am curious. in the table in the guides its marked as environmentally un friendly. Is there something I should be concerned about? what about it is harsh on the environment?

kuri
05-18-2013, 08:19 PM
I had been under the impression that iodophors were environmentally unfriendly as well, but I tried finding reasons online and haven't had any luck. It's toxic to fish at 50ppm, but it breaks down gradually in sewers and so probably never approaches that concentration when released into rivers and oceans. At least not on the scale of individual users using the stuff occasionally in small quantities.

fatbloke
05-19-2013, 04:11 AM
A lot of cleaning/sanitising materials are NOT environmentally friendly, full stop!

The very nature of them makes them harmful. Even so called "natural" or "organic" sanitisers are harmful in concentrate form.

The ones that have like an iodine element in them will fade with time as the UV does break down the colour pigmentation part, whether that reduces their efficacy or not, I don't know.

I'd guess it's one of those things that you should, most likely, only get enough to use within the timespan of the "life" of the product.

Personally, I just use soap and water for actual cleaning, then good rinsing, followed by sanitisation using the recipe from CJJ Berry's "First Steps in Winemaking" book, which is 5 crushed campden tablets mixed into a pint of water, with 1 teaspoon of citric acid.