View Full Version : Should I Stabilize?

MitchSmit
05-27-2013, 12:50 PM
Recipe:
12.5 lbs honey
4.5 gal. distilled water
nutrients were added during fermentation
D-47 + Bread Yeast

Fermented for about a month and a half, racked into sanitized secondary using sanitized equipment. I took a SG reading as it was racked and I had 1.010 - 1.009. Tastes pretty good, a little on the sweeter side. My question:

Should I be stabilizing the mead while it is in the secondary? This is my second mead other than a JOA I did a year ago and I have never done it before. I'm not that concerned with it finishing ASAP, but the thought of infections worry me. Any issues with just leaving it as is and aging without stabilizing? I have very little head-space in the secondary. There is a yeast ring on the top of the neck as well as some yeasty-looking spots on the top slanted part of the carboy so I think there is definitely some yeasties still in there from the rack.
Thanks,

fatbloke
05-27-2013, 01:01 PM
Once you're happy that the ferment is complete and won't go any further, then if there's any residual sugars and the possibility of fermentation within the tolerance, you should stabilise.

Even when the mead is completely clear, unless you've "sterile" filtered, the possibility of refermentation exists and the possibilty of bottle bombs.......

MitchSmit
05-28-2013, 10:25 AM
Ah Gotcha. It seemed to me that most of the posts I was reading folks were stabilizing right away into the secondary without letting it continue to ferment after racking. I suppose I could have achieved this by letting the mead sit in the primary for a longer duration until it was completely done but I think it will turn out. Thanks for clarifying.

fatbloke
05-28-2013, 02:45 PM
You'll find that a lot of us just complete the ferment in primary, then just rack it off the gross lees into secondary. Then the clearing and any other mods are done there. Because in a glass secondary you can see whats going on etc...