PDA

View Full Version : All of my mead.. is greenish?

meadnoob_83
06-28-2013, 09:31 AM
I brewed five 1 gallon batches of mead yesterday, four being melomels, and one being a short traditional. For some reason, they all appear to hold a greenish tinge to them when I shine a light on them. What the heck lol? I know they aren't infected, as I was quite meticulous about sanitization and they look just fine, except for the fact that they are greenish. One is just honey and nutrient, one is jaom, one is blackberry, one is strawberry raspberry, and one is naval orange with strawberry/blackberry. Green? What?

Silos
06-28-2013, 10:14 AM
I'm nowhere near a mead expert; in fact I'm just starting out myself.

However, the debugger in me thinks this analysis requires more information.

Were the five meads initially prepared in a 5 gallon must and then split into 1 gallon batches?

Are they in 1 gallon glass carboys/jugs?

What kind of light are you shining on them?

The first thing that pops into my head is that you're seeing either a tint in the glass, or perhaps some colouration from the light source itself. Do you have another empty carboy of the same kind that you could fill with water and test against? If neither of these possibilities is the case then there is something weirdly mead specific here that I have no experience with in person or in reading, though I'm sure that someone here will have an answer.

Marshmallow Blue
06-28-2013, 10:36 AM
I think Silos is on the right track here. Flash lights have a yellow tint to their light which could be meshing with your mead.

You could also have something green nearby, All colors reflect light (that's what allows us to see what color they are) but only certain parts of the spectrum (that determines which color). So if you have something green nearby the carboys, it could be picking up and reflecting some of that light back to the carboys.

TheGiantGinger
06-28-2013, 12:02 PM