PDA

View Full Version : Lager yeast?

d2005
07-11-2013, 10:04 PM
I've been brewing for about 6 years.

Thought I would try a mead. Did a lot of reading.

I'm very patient so after reading a lot online I didn't see why I should add yeast nutrients. Instead I just added two vials of yeast and tried to keep the gravity low.

Recipe:
6 lbs honey
2.5 gallons water
2x vials of WL german lager yeast (1st week, 1 3rd week)

Kept it at 58-60F
OG: 1.076
PH: ~3.5-3.6 (calibrated digital tool)

Well the liquid that I draw out is effervescent. But after 4 weeks the gravity is only about 1.051.

Is this fermentation rate "to be expected"?

This mead can be drained into a carboy and left next to the fermenter to clean up. At this rate it could take about another 8 weeks to finish up and i'm in no hurry to kick it along if its going to get the job done in 8 weeks.

It smells great, but still a lot like honey.

Has anyone else tried this procedure before?

Thanks for the help!

theEnvoy
07-11-2013, 10:09 PM
I'm not that experienced with lagers, but this lager yeast should ferment around 50 to 55 degrees. Could be part of the fermentation issue...

clone63
07-11-2013, 10:10 PM
That's warm for lager yeast... I'm not a beer brewer but that's room temperature, lager is supposed to be brewed at cellar temperatures.

Also, no nutrients, even for a low gravity mead can give you problems, especially with a less aggressive yeast.

d2005
07-11-2013, 10:19 PM
OK, well I can drop the temperature in the must down to 50-55F and see if it speeds up (thermowell in fermenter).

Midnight Sun
07-11-2013, 11:06 PM
At least to a certain point, warmer temps tend to cause yeast to ferment faster not slower. Lager yeasts are used to create steam beer when fermented at ale temps, so I very much doubt that temp is the cause here.