PDA

View Full Version : Question from A Noob- Unexpected Fizz

D'Toaster
08-02-2013, 09:54 PM
Hi Everyone! I'm a newbie I need help from someone more experienced to tell me if what's happened to my mead is normal or not. I've searched the site, but I couldn't seem to find anyone else who talked about this same problem. Maybe it's here and I just can't find it. Thanks in advance for taking the time to read this. :)

The first batch of Mead I made was only 1 gallon. I used only Honey, Ginger, and springwater with sweet yeast and it turned out just fine. There were no fizz issues at all. Building on that success, I made a 3 gallon batch of Honey Mead and I was able to bottle it last week. But tonight, as a test, I opened one of the bottles and it fizzed over like Champagne. That's not right is it? Or, is that supposed to happen sometimes?

Before I bottled this batch, I was pretty sure that it was done fermenting. When it tasted right, I stopped fermentation by putting in the required amount of potassium metabisulphite-1/16 teaspoon per gallon, and potassuim sorbate 1/2 tsp per gallon. After that I let it sit for a week to make sure the air lock had stopped bubbling completely. Maybe I didn't wait long enough?

And I'm also confused because half of the batch fizzed and half didn't. How could that happen?? I put half of it into recycled Crown Royal bottles (that I had sterilized) and those didn't have the fizz issue. Only the Mead I put into bottles with an E-Z cap fizzed up like Champagne.(Those bottles were sterilized too.) I tasted the fizzy batch, and it still tastes delicious.

The Mead Recipe I used was this: (And it is mega delicious!)
(3 Gallon Batch)
12 pounds Local Wildflower Honey
2 Ginger Roots (made into a tea, then the tea was poured into the mixture)
2 oranges
2 sticks cinnamon
2 cloves
10 raisins
pinch of nutmeg
pinch of allspice

I used Sweet Mead Yeast WLP 720.