• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Beginner and introduction!

Barrel Char Wood Products

markjitsu

NewBee
Registered Member
Aug 19, 2013
Hello everyone!

My name is Mark and I'm a beginner with mead. I've made wine for many years with my family and just decided to get into mead.

Currently I live in PA and work in NJ. I'm a greenhouse grower and I specialize in hydroponic vegetable production (though right now I'm just growing Mums).

I wanted to introduce myself. My basic set up is a plastic food grade bucket for fermentation. I have a plastic 5 gallon carboy, airlocks and bungs and what not.

Maybe you all could answer a question, we have to inject a lot of acid at our facility to combat alkalinity of the water. We TEAR through 60 gallon barrels of acid on a regular basis. Would these work for large batches of mead?

15nt1tz.jpg

kchaystack

NewBee
Registered Member
Jul 26, 2013
Lansing, MI
Sulfuric acid?

Read the newbee guide linked to the menu on the left. It discusses the varous types of plastics in common use. I highly doubt that the containers you have there are food grade plastics- so who knows what might leach out of them into your mead.

Vance G

NewBee
Registered Member