PDA

View Full Version : Making a T'ej

Mirakk
09-08-2013, 12:10 PM
Hey guys,

I'm brand new to mead-making, having only taken a class where we made some must for a braggot, and helping a friend whip up a batch of Metheglyn. The very first homebrew I ever tasted was a T'ej, and I really want to try my hand on making one.

I have a recipe, and the ingredients are on their way. The recipe I'm using is below.

Tej Recipe

Yield: 1 Gallon
3lbs honey (Wildflower)
8 oz of ground hopps (Gesho Leaves)
4 oz of hopps sticks (Gesho Twig)

DIRECTIONS
Mix and let stand at room temperature for three days.

Take about 6 cups of the mixture and bring to a boil with the hops and hopps stick.

Cook for 15 minute in low heat. Let cool and add to the mixtures. In a sealed container leave at room temperature for 15 days.

If too dry add a cup of honey and leave over night. If too sweet, add more hopps directly into the mixture and let it ferment more. Strain and serve cold.

END

Now, I'm not so crazy about keeping it traditional and using the wild fermentation method, as it's unreliable at best and I still don't really know what I'm doing. The batch could be bad and I'd be clueless about it.

So I've decided that I want to make it using brewer's yeast. Traditionally T'ej is quite dry, so a champagne yeast would work, but I want something a little sweeter.

My questions are as follows.

1. Will using a semi-sweet mead yeast like Lalvin D-47 give the quality I'm looking for?

2. What will my steps look like now that I'm not using Wild Fermentation? There are a lot of time periods in the recipe that would change, I'd imagine.

fatbloke
09-08-2013, 02:00 PM
Hey guys,

I'm brand new to mead-making, having only taken a class where we made some must for a braggot, and helping a friend whip up a batch of Metheglyn. The very first homebrew I ever tasted was a T'ej, and I really want to try my hand on making one.