PDA

View Full Version : Should I still add nutrients if maybe past 50% fermentation point?

otherchuck
09-10-2013, 06:09 PM
Greetings,

I started brewing a batch of mead on Saturday (today is Tues) and I added the first stage of nutrients at that time (4.5g Fermaid/4.5g DAP). About 24 hours later, when there was definitely active fermentation going on, I added the second stage of nutrients (2.8g Fermaid/2.8g DAP), and stirred the must vigorously at that time. Yesterday, I was too busy, and didn't do anything at all to the must, but very early this morning (Tues), I stirred it.

When I get home tonight (about 5 hours from right now, lets say), I plan to stir again, take a hydrometer reading, and add the third stage nutrients if the the fermentation seems to be near the halfway point (based on hydrometer readings).

My question is this: It has been an acceptably vigorous fermentation process so far, and I am wondering if maybe I am already past that halfway point. At what point should I consider the fermentation process to be so far along, that I am better off not doing the third stage of nutrient addition (1.8g Fermaid/1.8g DAP)?

That doesn't sound like a lot of nutrients, so I suspect it will be fine to add them even if I am noticeably past the midpt, but I am eager to hear what others think.

Also, at what point should I stop aerating/stirring the must? Also around the midpoint?

It is possible that the fermentation process hasn't progressed as far as I think it has, but as I say, it has been pretty vigorous for a few days. I am seeking advice now, so I can make the correct decision tonight if...when I read the hydrometer...I find that I am noticeably past the midway point.

The 5-gallon batch consists of 15lbs clover honey, and I used rehydrated Lalvin DV-10 yeast. There are no other fruits or herbs in the must.

Thanks!

Chuck

Jim H
09-10-2013, 10:37 PM
I understand your frustration. I am learning the fine points, myself! Welcome to the forum, by the way.