PDA

View Full Version : @ Starting gravities

McJeff
09-11-2013, 08:59 PM
Now i know you can have a SG that can be too low, is there something wrong with starting low? Is there a "sweet spot"(see what i did there) for a SG?

Was playing around with the mead calculator. Was looking at 2gallons of apple cider and 3lbs of honey which should be around 1.121.

bernardsmith
09-11-2013, 09:20 PM
Now i know you can have a SG that can be too low, is there something wrong with starting low? Is there a "sweet spot"(see what i did there) for a SG?

Was playing around with the mead calculator. Was looking at 2gallons of apple cider and 3lbs of honey which should be around 1.121.

I am no expert but an SG of 1.121 is close to an ABV of 16 % . You would need to pick your yeast carefully as the tolerance of many yeasts is perhaps 14% ABV... Moreover, the "hotter" the alcohol the more residual sugars you might want to have in the mead. My 2cents

McJeff
09-11-2013, 10:20 PM
I am no expert but an SG of 1.121 is close to an ABV of 16 % . You would need to pick your yeast carefully as the tolerance of many yeasts is perhaps 14% ABV... Moreover, the "hotter" the alcohol the more residual sugars you might want to have in the mead. My 2cents

Ok I'm kinda confused by that. I was goin to use D47 for this mead which is 14% as you said. Why would I care if I have enough sugar for 16%?

Jim H
09-11-2013, 10:40 PM
I think he was just pointing out that your recipe is in the vicinity of 16%, and that's more than your D47 are spec'd to tolerate.

This means that you will have a few points of sugar extra...which further means that the must will be a tad on the sweet side. That should be fine, if that is what you're going for.

But, if you're aiming for dry mead (or if you want to ferment dry and then backsweeten to an exact level of sweetness la Fatbloke's method), then your SG is a little too high.

kchaystack
09-11-2013, 11:01 PM