PDA

View Full Version : Anything I forgot???

Droc
09-11-2013, 09:39 PM
I'm new to making mead and I just pitched my yeast into my first attempt. I'm going for semi-sweet, and was wondering if you guys had any suggestions for anything else I might be able to do for this batch or for future ones...

Here's what I used

2 1/2 lbs Honey (not sure the type as I got it form a farmers market and it didn't say)
1 lb peeled peaches
5g Lalvin Ec-1118
1 tsp yeast nutrient
1/2 tsp yeast energizer
1/2 pectic enzyme
1 tsp potassium metabisulfate

First I mixed together the nutrient, energizer, potassium metabisulfate and water together and then added the honey. I blanched, peeled and quartered the peaches, put them in a mesh bag and put them in the fermentor. After that I put the lid on and let it sit over night.
The next evening I activated my yeast, added my pectic enzyme and mixed the must together for about 5 minutes to try to get some O2 into it. It is now being stored in my basement which stays around 70 degrees or so.
My initial SG was 1.12. I was going to test out the acid, but I forgot, so I may open it up tomorrow and do that.

Any help or comments would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!!

rmccask
09-11-2013, 11:34 PM
I would have put the pectic enzyme in there at the beginning and not the energizer and put the energizer in right before the yeast. Some people wait signs of fermentation to add the energizer. I also would have frozen the peaches to help break down the cells of the peaches. I also would consider a different yeast next time. I prefer 71B for melomels. These are all already done so don't lose sleep over it. Just things to consider for next time.

Do NOT put in the acid while it is fermenting. You can do that to taste at the end. I usually worry more about it being too acidic and the fermentation stalling. If you see signs that it is stalling, check the pH.

Welcome to the addiction!

Chevette Girl
09-11-2013, 11:48 PM