PDA

View Full Version : Question about Aeration/Yeast Feeding

Mirakk
09-12-2013, 02:16 PM
Hey guys,

Today I got off the phone with a local beekeeper (friend of family) and he's going to give me 22lbs of raw honey he collected a few weeks ago. I plan on making a sweet mead using Oskaar's Sweet mead recipe, but I've got a question for you all.

#1. If you're aerating daily and using fermaid k supplements at the end of the lag phase and at the 1/3 sugar break, don't you risk also feeding any wild yeasts in the must as well? Is this typically not a concern? (I'm still very new to this all)

The recipe is as follows:

21-22lbs Orange Blossom Honey (I'll be using the local wildflower honey)
10g Fermaid K
H20 to 6 gallons
20g ICV-D47 Yeast rehydrated with Go-Ferm

#2. I'm going to substitute the D47 with some 71B because I cannot guarantee the temperature and don't want to risk the fusels. As strains go, it has the same alcohol tolerance, and a higher temperature threshold, so I thought it would be a good substitution. I know I have to get it off the lees right away, but is there any reason this substitution would be a BAD idea?

Thanks in advance!

theEnvoy
09-12-2013, 02:23 PM
If you sanitize (I use star san) your tools, and keep it away from extended atmosphere exposure, you shouldn't have any problems, has been my experience.

I also subbed 71 B for D 47, and using your ideas, had no problems at all. Racked off yeast as soon as was feasible...

loveofrose
09-12-2013, 02:31 PM
Answer #1
The idea is that you are pitching with such an overwhelming number of yeast that nothing natural can compete.

Answer#2
71B would probably be ok. Definitely keep it off the lees and try to keep the temp down as much as you can.

Alternatively, you could also use KIV-1116, but you may need to add more honey at the end to sweeten as it will potentially go to 18%. I find less fusel with KIV over 71B at higher temperatures.

Mirakk
09-12-2013, 04:07 PM