PDA

View Full Version : possible recipe, spiced maple mead

mmini1990
09-16-2013, 10:12 PM
Hi everyone! I am relatively new to mead making and a question about a possible recipe that I will be starting this weekend.
Here is what I'm thinking, anyone with greater knowledge than me who is willing to share some insight would be greatly appreciated.

3 gallon batch.

Using tupilo honey, and bread A Canadian maple. Still a little off on what the specific proportions should be.

Wyeast dry mead yeast.
Energizer and nutrient
Cinnamon
Clove
And other allspice or nutmeg

I'm hoping for this to be a bit of a higher alcohol volume.

I was also dabbling with the idea of either sweet orange or vanilla.

I'm mainly concerned with the proportion of honey and maple, as well as the yeast I have. I'm wanting a semi sweet preferably.

Thanks for any insight!!

wowbagger
09-17-2013, 09:40 AM
A couple years ago I made a 'Christmas Mead' that was similar to this.

For a gallon I Used 2 lb honey.and 1 lb maple syrup,then 1 stick cinnamon. I also added some cranberry juice. When it went dry I bback sweetened with about the same ratio of sugars.

came out fantastic but it took a while.

good luck!

mmini1990
09-17-2013, 01:16 PM
I was thinking 7honey and 3 maple and back it with a bit more maple later on. I really want the taste of maple not the hint but a face full. But not in a sweet way if you fallow me lol. I don't think that makes sense but ya.

Im happy yours turned out good. That gives me hope! Thanks for the reply!

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2

Midnight Sun
09-17-2013, 08:16 PM
Never used maple before, so no advice there. Would love to at some point though.

Recommendations:

1. Do a search for "acerglyn", mead made with maple syrup. Some hits will come up that might help out. Here is a link to a recipe I've always wanted to try: click. (http://www.gotmead.com/forum/showthread.php?t=9177) Looks like a 3:2 honey/maple ratio.