PDA

View Full Version : herb extraction in mead

madwing
10-28-2013, 11:47 PM
hi, first time poster here, and newbie mead maker. I have brewed extract and all grain beers, and worked in a local brewery as filterboy for a couple of years.

a month ago I helped a vintner friend and his business partner make a light malt extract/wheat/Malvasia Bianca juice brew fermented with wild yeast from a small bottle of fresh cinsault juice. it has been off the first lees for more than three weeks. when we bottle we're making a tea of chinchona bark mixed with enough DME for carbonation.

all this to say, while I have no experience with mead, I have a bit of transferable knowledge. and I am not afraid to try things.

I have a friend who can provide me with dark Santa Cruz mountains honey (tarweed/buckwheat/orchards), and I have buhner's "sacred herbal beers" as a starting point. i am trying to understand how herbs express not so much their flavors, but their healing/energizing/psychotropic properties. for example, does anyone know how to tell how much licorice and mallow root to use in a mead fermentation to make a mead/elixer that would be good for someone who needs the mucus in their chest softened?

I think of tinctures, teas, and fresh material and wonder does the fermentation process intensify or dilute their characters? things like this. aside from buhner, are there other resources to check out for these types of information?

sorry to come on so heavy with a first post. but after a month of thinking about it and reading here and other places I finally found the words I wanted to put into the questions I wanted to ask :)

Noe Palacios
11-02-2013, 01:31 AM
hi, first time poster here, and newbie mead maker. I have brewed extract and all grain beers, and worked in a local brewery as filterboy for a couple of years.