PDA

View Full Version : A question of water

bernardsmith
10-29-2013, 10:26 AM
I've been making fruit wines for a few years but have only started to make meads. Until now I have gone out of my way to use spring water from a NY State source (it's free but a bit of a pain to obtain in the winter months) rather than use our municipal water (with its fluorine and chlorine and other biocides). My question: our tap water tastes fine but is it better to use spring water rather than tap water for mead making? How likely is it that if I leave a bucket of the water exposed to the air that all the fluorides and chlorine will evaporate off?

joemirando
10-29-2013, 11:08 AM
I've been making fruit wines for a few years but have only started to make meads. Until now I have gone out of my way to use spring water from a NY State source (it's free but a bit of a pain to obtain in the winter months) rather than use our municipal water (with its fluorine and chlorine and other biocides). My question: our tap water tastes fine but is it better to use spring water rather than tap water for mead making? How likely is it that if I leave a bucket of the water exposed to the air that all the fluorides and chlorine will evaporate off?

I know that the chlorine will evaporate out. Not sure about flourides. Even if it does, you are left with whatever minerals your tap water might have dissolved in it. It may be fine. Or the type and quantities of minerals may hinder fermentation and/or give off flavors. My tap water is quite hard, and even filtering it isnt sufficient. There's only one way to know for sure, I guess, but I would get as much spring water as you can while you can. <g>

Joe

loveofrose
10-29-2013, 12:48 PM
When I started brewing, I went to the store and purchased 1 liter of every spring water sold in bulk. I then did a side by side tasting. That's right. A side by side tasting of water. I chose the best tasting water and have stuck with it.