• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

raw or processed honey?

Barrel Char Wood Products

bernardsmith

Got Mead? Patron
GotMead Patron
Sep 1, 2013
Saratoga Springs , NY
Okay, Here's proof of my complete novice status. I understand that raw honey contains far more of the volatile flavor molecules than processed honey but raw honey also contains gunk from the comb including some wax. Which is preferred by mead makers - raw or processed honey? And if I use raw honey how do I minimize the detritus coating buckets and tubes and hydrometers and other tools or is that simply the cost of "doing business"? Thanks in advance for your thoughts and comments.

Marshmallow Blue

NewBee
Registered Member
Depends on what you mean by processed. Lots fo places will filter out that bee wax bits and stuff. That's okay. When they filter out all the flavor and go even further to cut it with corn syrup is where the issue is.

To avoid this, I'd say most of us like to stick closer to raw side than the corn syrup side.