PDA

View Full Version : Stuck or burned out - please help...

McPirate
11-12-2013, 07:22 AM
Complete newbee here - this site so far has been invaluable - any help would be much appreciated....

So I cold mixed - aiming for around 7.5 litres of metheglin in the first instance

Used:

4x1.5l (1.58gal)bottles spring water
6.5x 340g (4lb, 14oz) jars organic wildflower honey (2x with royal jelly, 0.5 'set' (I ran out....)
900ml (0.24gal) Cloudy apple juice - no sulphides
2x Lalvin EC118
1/2 tbsp yeast energiser (Fermaid K)
2 sticks cinnamon, smashed
1/2 tbsp fenugreek
5x drops willow tincture
1/2 tbsp hysop
1 tbsp poppy seed
1/2 tbsp cloves
1/2 tbsp whole cardamom
Pinch wormwood

Sterilized the hell out of everything. Mixed all the gently warmed honey in the apple juice and about a quarter of the water in the 10 litre glass carboy, added the rest of the water, shook well. Reconstituted the yeast in warm water, added this after 20 mins as well, along with the energiser. Put all the spices in a sterilised muslin bag, and added this. Shook the lot thoroughly.

Took a reading of the SG, spun the hydrometer to free bubbles etc - was 1.081 - was aiming for a medium sweet mead at around 14%, so this seemed right, but I could be wrong....

After a couple of hours, the thing went crazy like champagne, bubbling away very merrily. Elected not to test SG for first few days - shook 3x per day for first three days, then set aside.

Day 5 - all activity stops. Added tsp more energiser. Still nothing. No bubbling, nothing. Tested SG - now at 1.010.:o Is this even possible? How didi I burn out the sugar so quickly? Where did I go wrong? Can it be saved?

All help heartily appreciated....

Honeyhog
11-12-2013, 10:08 AM
Like you said it went crazy with the bubbling and yes it is more than possible, in fact it's very likely that the primary ferment is almost done.

Marshmallow Blue
11-12-2013, 11:58 AM