PDA

View Full Version : Give it too me Straight... How bad is it doc?

BCWatson
11-19-2013, 09:15 PM
Recipe:
4lbs of clover honey
1 quart of blueberry juice

Yeast: Lalvin EC-1118
S.G.: 1.165
Estimated F.G.: 1.022
Current Gravity: 1.110

Ok how bad have I messed up. I am very new to mead brewing and my first batch was pitched on 11/12/13. After a week of what I guess was Active Fermentation. I jumped the gun and racked it. I took a a hydrometer reading at the racking and Sealed the jug back up with an airlock. Fermentation seemed to start right back up. A little foam appeared on the surface and bubbles traveled through the airlock. When I awoke this morning the airlock water was level and after watching for a few minutes I didn't see any bubbles. The surface of the Must was mostly clear of the foam from the night before.

I read around on the forums here and other brewing sites. I have come to the conclusion that I racked too early and have deprived my yeast of Nitrogen, and once the Nitrogen was used up out of the must fermentation stopped.

On to my point. Does my conclusion sound viable? are there other possibilities I am not aware of? What do I do now to Restart? Do I restart with some EC-1118? Should I use any Nutrient/energizer? How long should I wait before Restarting? How long is too long to wait?

Thank you In advance.
Brandon

loveofrose
11-19-2013, 09:26 PM
Actually, you have quite a few issues.

1. SG 1.165 - Even the most advanced mazer has trouble with an SG this high. It requires daily aeration, religious SNA, and triple the normal amount of yeast. In short, you were doomed to fail.

2. Did you add any nutrients? The racking is not the cause of nitrogen deficiency. It is the fact that honey naturally has low nitrogen. We generally add DAP to remedy this deficiency.

3. Premature racking will stall a ferment, but the points above are the most likely reasons for yours.

Fixes

1. Dilute with water, add Fermaid K & DAP, and hope it restarts.