PDA

View Full Version : Yeast not dying?

arsenius
11-21-2013, 10:32 AM
I started a batch each of grape and apple mead together, basically following the JQGM recipe. I added sorbate and sulphite to each batch to stop fermentation and then back sweetened at the same time. Unfortunately in my apple the fermentation has not stopped. I added more sorbate and sulphite mixed into some juice after about a week, but I've still got bubbles coming up.

I wasn't able to get actual campden tablets, so I did my best to measure out what would have been 1/2 tablet each time along with 1/2 tsp of sorbate.

Do I just need to wait this out? I don't want to add too many chemicals and have it become undrinkable. I'd also like to avoid any bottle explosions later!

My recipe was:

5 liters apple juice
750 grams honey
Lalvin ec-1118

Thanks!

bernardsmith
11-21-2013, 11:01 AM
I am no expert but I don't believe that adding K-meta and K sorbate will actually stop fermentation unless your yeast colony has all but consumed the last of the residual sugar or is dying from alcohol poisoning. Stabilization in the best of worlds simply inhibits if not actually prevents the yeast from reproducing. It does not stop the living yeast from fermenting sugars that are present.
Wine makers tend to stabilize their wines when there are very few active yeasts in the wine. I am not experienced enough in making meads to know what mazers do but I think the same chemistry applies to yeasts whether they are fermenting fruit or honey sugars.

fatbloke
11-21-2013, 05:19 PM
Bernards pretty much nailed it, just that if you want to kill a batch off, its best to chill the hell out of it first (34F/1C) for a week or so, then rack the still cold mead onto the chems....

bernardsmith
11-21-2013, 09:25 PM
Bernards pretty much nailed it, just that if you want to kill a batch off, its best to chill the hell out of it first (34F/1C) for a week or so, then rack the still cold mead onto the chems....