PDA

View Full Version : Stuck fermentation

Carboy
11-24-2013, 11:04 AM
Hi guys,

Total newbie here. I was hopeing to get some help with a braget I'm trying to make. I followed a recipe from a book and adjusted it for a 2.5 gallon batch. OG was 1.11 and after a very vigorous primary which was about 4 days it stopped. I left it for another week and racked it off into a clean carboy. I checked it again and it was at 1.05. I left it for two weeks with no signs of anything and checked it again. No movement. I then added some yeast energizer and shook the hell out of it. Two days later I threw new yeast in, this time I used champagne yeast. That was ten days ago without anything. I proofed the yeast before pitching it too. I'll add that the initial yeast was cote de blanc sp?.
It tastes good but is still undrinkably sweet. Is there now too much alcohol to get anything started again?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!!

heathd666
11-24-2013, 06:31 PM
Hiya fellow newbee here as well but everyone on here wants to know any details such as water to honey type of yeast etc. basically your recipe and brewlog. it will help anyone that looks out with helping you.

for example i used a ale yeast (danstar nottingham ale yeast) and 15 pounds honey and 4.5 pounds water and within 5 days the yeast had ate all the suger it could and died off. im no way able to give you advice since im so new as well but that may be what happened and no matter how much yeast you repitch theres nothing for it to eat. but post your recipe and log of whatever you have done and i am sure someone will be able to better help you.

sincerely
heath delashmit

Chevette Girl
11-24-2013, 07:40 PM
Welcome to the forum, Carboy.

As it states in the IMPORTANT part up top, we need your recipe and procedures to pinpoint what might have gone wrong. It looks like your fermentation got about halfway done.