PDA

View Full Version : Mathematically declined

ShaunG
11-25-2013, 09:15 PM
OK. I just can't figured out the Calculator.

I'm doing a 5g batch. I'm using the D47(?) yeast, so my finishing gravity I would like to be about 1.011(medium sweetness?) and 14%.

I have 3lbs Blueberries for primary and 3lbs Blackberries+9lbs Blueberries for the Secondary.

How much honey do I need?

Funny story, I ordered 5lbs of honey and the guy brought me 5 gallons.
>SIGH<
Whaddya gonna do right? When life gives you Lemons.....get surgery so you can have Melons :)

Anyway, I'm a 20yr veteran of craft brewing, this is my 1st shot at Melomel.

Thanks in advance!

fatbloke
11-26-2013, 12:27 AM
Average of about 3lb in the gallon so just start with about 15lb and make it up to 5 gallons.

That'd give you about the 1.100/1.110 sort of area.

If its a 22/25litre bucket, there'd be space for the fruit.

D47 will work fine but IMO there's better yeasts for "reds" some are easy others are good but have caveats like RC-212 being a nutrient hog. D47 carries a caveat of needing to be fermented below 70F/21C.

Equally, it does depend on what type youre wanting to make....... with those base ingredients I presume a still mead......

Just remember, you may be the best beer maker on the planet, while there's parallels, mead isn't beer.......

And its not a bad suggestion to have a read of the newbee guide linked left. You'd likely be able to skim the basics with your beer experience but there's plenty of good knowledge there too, or just have a good search round for a bit more guidance or ideas.......

ShaunG
11-26-2013, 12:47 PM
OK, so I settled on 13.5lbs honey and 4g water (5g total volume) and I'll save the fruit for secondary.

Having said that I need to calculate the fruit contribution to the ABV. Ideally I'd like to have the residual sweetness come from the fruit and add just a touch of honey if needed.