PDA

View Full Version : Sweet mead question from newbie

Mead_Monster
12-30-2013, 12:41 AM
Hi All,

Newbie here. I need to ask a question before making my first Meade. How can you brew a sweet Meade with a higher alcohol content? There is a Meadery in New Mexico that puts out a style called King's Blend that has a definite honey flavor is slightly sweet and somewhat heavy but not cloying, if that makes sense. I would like to reproduce that quality and taste as closely as possible. There are no fruits in the blend. I would also like my mead to have a nice kick with an alcohol content of at least 15%. However my understanding, as minimal as it is, is that a sweeter Meade has a lower alcohol content. I do not have a recipe in mind and will not be able to start this journey until I recover from my motorcycle accident so I have some time to research.

Thank you for your assistance.

fatbloke
12-30-2013, 04:43 AM
To start with, don't make the beer makers mistake and think that all the fermentables must be in the must at the time of pitching yeast. That path holds the road to stuck ferments, stressed yeasts and osmotic shock (not necessarily, but with a much increased chance).

Search for "Sack" mead. That type sounds more like what you're alluding to......and no, I don't really recognise where the difference between a sack mead and a dessert mead might be. Both tend to be sweet. Whether one type is supposed to be stronger than the other or whether there's some subtle difference in the making ? Meh! Different names for the same thing IMO. Just depends on the "target audience".......presumably.

Some other questions you might have may have already been answered in the NewBee guide, linked in the left side yellow box. It's a bit of a read but has a lot of guidance.