• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Specific Gravity too High

Barrel Char Wood Products

reese27k

NewBee
Registered Member
Jan 4, 2014
Hi everyone. I'm very new at mead making. I started my second batch last night and I made a mistake. I saw a simple 1 gallon recipe online made from honey and Ocean Spray cranberry juice. I used grocery store clover honey (probably not the best choice) and cherry juice cocktail instead of cranberry. I added about 2 1/2 lbs of honey, just under 64 oz of the juice, and water the rest of the way to make a gallon. I added a half teaspoon of energizer and a half teaspoon of nutrient with the intention of adding one more half teaspoon of nutrient in a few days. I shook the hell out of it and then added a campden tablet and shook it some more. I let it sit for 24 hours. It also had a very large amount of foam on the top that didn't completely go away even after the 24 hours. Not sure if that means anything. Anyway, I rehydrated my yeast (ec-1118 lalvin) and checked it with a hydrometer before pitching the yeast. It read 1.15 with the temp being about 70 degrees. I have no idea how the gravity got to be so high. I didn't think I added enough honey to get anywhere n