PDA

View Full Version : my first mead batch

jdektattoo13
02-03-2014, 04:55 PM
i have brewed beer for many years, this is my first attempt at mead. my starting gravity was 1.170. 20 lbs clover honey, three pounds brown sugar, spices, and white labs super high gravity yeast (two of them),in a six gallon batch.
It's day seven, i'm getting bubbles every 10 to 15 seconds now. today my gravity reading is 1.010. i'm very surprised it got so low. it's 21% alcohol right now! How much lower will it go? and should i rack it today or is it to soon?

jdektattoo13
02-03-2014, 08:27 PM
thanks for all the great advise, soooo helpful!

mmclean
02-03-2014, 08:53 PM
Hello jdektattoo13,

Welcome to GOTMEAD.

I don't know anything about White Lab yeast. Most people here prefer Lallemand yeast but not all. It has only been four hours since your first post.

A little patience will go far with crafting mead. Relax and have a cold one, someone will help soon. ;)

kudapucat
02-04-2014, 09:18 AM
If you want folk to help, please be nice, we're not all in the same time zone as you.

According to this site I've linked to, (http://www.whitelabs.com/yeast/wlp099-super-high-gravity-ale-yeast)
WLP099 SUPER HIGH GRAVITY ALE YEAST
Can ferment up to 25% alcohol. From England. Produces ester character that increases with increasing gravity. Malt character dominates at lower gravities.

First clue would have been 'super high gravity' it looks like this bad-boy will take your mead completely dry.
Also, because of the high alcohol, it will likely require some years of aging. It's going to taste as hot as a good scotch for some time.

I'd get stuck into making a lower alcohol sweet batch so you've got something to drink whilst you wait this fella out.

As mentioned, patience will be required. Welcome to the madness that is GotMead!

GntlKnigt1
02-04-2014, 10:29 AM