• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Questions about additives/the process - New to mead

Barrel Char Wood Products

Newbrewcrew

NewBee
Registered Member
Feb 10, 2014
I'm new to mead making and only have one mead under my belt. I started a strawberry melomel Jan. 27 for the heck of it and it was finished fermenting by Feb. 5th, racked into 3 gallon carboy and bulk aging. Racking again in 3 to 4 months. My fiance and I want to serve our own mead at our wedding.

NOTE: These questions will pertain to 5 gallon batches of melomels using a D-47 yeast or similar. I will be using 12.5lbs wildflower honey and 15lbs strawberries, giving me an ABV% of 13.06% (according to the calculator) D47 yeast tolerance is 14%.

- Pectic Enzyme: When should I use it, how much should I use and how do I use it? I've had people tell me to add it to the must 24 hours before pitching yeast, after it's started fermenting it's affects will diminish.