PDA

View Full Version : Aging Mead

OCorcain
03-11-2014, 04:11 PM
Hello,

I am new to mead and im currently making my 2nd batch. The first batch was a pure honey mead and bottled after 3 months to age. The batch I am making now has just been racked off some blackberries and i am wondering in what form and for how long to age it?

The recipe and actions so far are as follows;

3lbs Clover Honey
3ltrs Sulfolk Cider
1ltre water
2tsp yeast nutrient
1 tsp pectolase
Lavin 1118
Total Volume 1Gallon(UK)

OG: 1102 (23rd Jan)
25 Feb: Good handful of Blackberries added + 1/2 tsp pectolase (SG 1032)
11 March racked to clean demijohn SG 1020

GntlKnigt1
03-11-2014, 04:46 PM
The general rule of thumb is 1 month for each % of alcohol. Your mileage may vary. For quick mead, try a JAOM. For really quick, try Brays One Month Mead, or BOMM. Use the search function to find either recipe

Sent from Arthur Dent's towel smothering a volume of Vogon poetry, some of which just leaked out.

Honeyhog
03-11-2014, 08:44 PM
I've found my melomels have been very drinkable after about 4 months or so and I have a black cherry one with an ABV of 17.5% and it's not too sweet with a SG of 1.013. They will definitely get better with more time but I would give it a taste after 4 months.

GntlKnigt1
03-11-2014, 10:52 PM
Would you agree that there is a significant shift in flavor between 2 months and 8 months? And a less marked change thereafter?

Sent from the Nexus of the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy which has been infected with Vogon poetry, some of which leaked out here.

Honeyhog
03-11-2014, 11:30 PM
I am new and my oldest mead, a blackberry traditional, is now finally tasting awesome at 8 months although I likely hadn't tasted it since it was 3 months old. I made it on my birthday last summer and I plan on drinking the first bottle on my birthday this summer so I'll be able to let you know then.

skunkboy
03-11-2014, 11:54 PM