PDA

View Full Version : Polish Blueberry Sack Mead help

Believenpeace
03-20-2014, 07:50 PM
Hello! I have been making sack meads for almost eight years now. My blueberry recipe is 4/5 gallon honey, 1/5 gallon blueberries, 1 cup H2O for champagne yeast.

My questions are: Yeast nutrients and staggering them, what/how to do? My fermentation stopped, can I just add more blueberries and yeast after a racking?

This is the first time I have had any problems with my mead. I am not hip on gravity, ph, or other terms/processes people talk about in the forums, I have never needed to be.

Thanks in advance.

:(

Honeyhog
03-20-2014, 09:34 PM
You may be beyond the point in fermentation where commercial nutrients will really help. For you, I would say take a packet or two of bread yeast and boil it along with a handful of chopped raisins and put that in to feed the yeast and kickstart fermentation again.

GntlKnigt1
03-21-2014, 02:57 AM
Honeyhog has the right advice if you are past the 50% sugar break. If it's earlier in the process, you could use DAP or yeast nutrient and see if that restarts fermentation, or maybe you need to make a super starter with K1 and repitch. Do I surmise that you do not have a hydrometer? That information would be helpful. Did you use a different yeast? What yeast did you use? What about temperature, is that different than usual? Did the honey come from a reputable beekeeper, or is it possible that it might be from China and have some contaminates in it? When did you pitch the yeast and how was the fermentation leading up to the stall?

As you can see, your one question leads to lots of questions.

Marshmallow Blue
03-21-2014, 09:07 AM
I'm not very clear on your recipe. Is it
~9 lbs of honey
~3 lbs blueberries
and 1 cup of water?

If I recall blueberries can cause some yeast issues.

Believenpeace
03-21-2014, 08:08 PM