PDA

View Full Version : !st batch questions

readymom
03-28-2014, 11:04 AM
This is my first try. I have the Complete Meadmaker book and this site.
Used this recipe
4.2 gallons Cider (Schramm calls for unpreserved cider but I've used store-bought and it turned out great)
- 10 lb med-full bodied honey [Matt's change based on most people thinking 8 pounds wasn't enough]
- 1 lb dark brown sugar
- 8 oz raisins (chopped)
- 8 oz dates (chopped)
- 10g ICV D47 yeast
- Yeast nutrient & DAP
Initially sp. gavity 1.126 Now 1.026 Temp range has been 62-66. Currently 62.
I have tried to use the calculator but apparently have no idea what I am doing. It changes the numbers when I enter them.
Stopped bubbling 2 days ago. What do I do now? Just wait or move to secondary? Can someone tell me if it looks like my yeast has hit its limit or how much alcohol content is. Also I see reference to a newbie guide but cannot find a link? Can someone direct me there. Thanks for any help.

moridin
03-28-2014, 11:50 AM
I'm still a noob but I would be taking a gravity reading every day and recording them. Once your gravity levels are remaining the same. I.e day 1 - 1.026, day 2 - 1.023, day 3 - 1.022. Day 4 - 1.022.

That would be an indication that fermentation is done, and at that point I would wait for it to clear up a bit and then transfer

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

moridin
03-28-2014, 11:53 AM
According to http://www.lalvinyeast.com/images/library/ICV-D47_Yeast.pdf
Your temperature is fine and your yeast has a potential for roughly 14% abv

readymom
03-28-2014, 11:59 AM
But is that where I am? 14% or can you tell?

moridin
03-28-2014, 12:15 PM
From my calculations your at just over 13% abv

readymom
03-28-2014, 12:19 PM
Thanks. Can you steer me to the newbie guide?

Chevette Girl
03-28-2014, 02:10 PM