• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

To pitch or not to pitch?

Barrel Char Wood Products

VagosDuke

NewBee
Registered Member
Apr 12, 2014
Hello and greetings from Greece!

I am relatively new to brewing, still experimenting (a lot). I have successfully brewed and distilled a couple of batches of Rum, so i thought to give mead a shot, looks easy enough. Currently, I am successfully(?) brewing a JOAM right now (about 5 more days and then rack to secondary), but there is a problem with the second batch that was prepared just yesterday.

See, I made the Rum and the previous JOAM with baker's yeast which started bubbling very fast, but in this batch I acquired and used some wine yeast (exact strain unknown, purchased unpacked from wine lab). I activated 5g of yeast for 30 minutes in warm water and poured directly into the jug. Absolutely no activity for 24 hours. Had shaken the jug and aerated and all this stuff, but nothing! I did read that it may take up to 3 days for the fermentation to start, but I expected vigorous fermentation within a 12 hours (as with baker's yeast).