PDA

View Full Version : Bulk Honey in Orange County, CA?

ReadMead
04-30-2014, 02:25 PM
Hello Everyone,

Just joined the site and I am learning so much! I've been brewing all grain beer for roughly 3 years, and just recently had my first mead. It was a melomel from moonlight meadery that blew my mind! Now I want to try making my own.

So my question is, does anyone know of a good supplier for bulk honey in the OC or nearby? I am looking for 1- 60lb pail of orange blossom to use as a base honey.

My only find so far has been from "Dutch Gold" honeys in PA, but shipping on 60lbs is like $70!!!

Thanks in adavance!

icedmetal
04-30-2014, 04:49 PM
It looks like all the places I got honey a couple of years ago have gone insanely expensive on their prices. Check out Costco; they source their Kirkland Signature clover honey directly from the beekeepers, so the costs are kept quite low, and the quality is great. Glorybee foods out of Oregon used to be my go-to source, but it doesn't look like they even sell the 40lb pails I used to get from them. Could be wrong...

I thought there was a miller or millers honey out of California a couple years ago as well, but a quick search turned up the same dutch gold site you mentioned.

ReadMead
04-30-2014, 05:00 PM
Thanks for the advice on the costco honey. Can't believe how hard it is to source this stuff. I called Millers, and I guess they shut down there California locatation. All that's left is their location in Utah, and same issue - really expensive shipping, and $200 bucks for a 60lb pail.

Where the heck is everyone in California getting their honey?!?

ReadMead
05-01-2014, 01:45 PM
One more question Icedmetal...

Does an all clover base work well in a melomel? I'm thinking of doing a BOMM blueberry melomel with it.

How about with a taditional? I thought I had read somewhere on her that it had a stronger flavor and was used better in smaller amounts.

icedmetal
05-01-2014, 07:03 PM