OCorcain
05-07-2014, 11:44 AM
Hello All

I am still quite new to this and have made a Ginger Metheglin

3lbs Clover Honey
Fresh ginger boiled with sugar and water mix
Lalvin 1118
For 1 gallon

The mead is almost 2months old and is not clearing yet, however the SG is 1006, should I use my fermentation stopper now or wait until it clears?

Marshmallow Blue
05-07-2014, 12:00 PM
Yeast could still be around looking for something to do. 2 Months is pretty early to be worrying about clarity. I've had some start to clear around the 3-4 month range and fully clear by around 6 months. I'd wait until 6-8 months before I started to think about clarity agents.

But to answer the OP, you can use Bentonite, or Super kleer (both should be readily available at you friendly home brew shop). You can try cold crashing, which is just dropping the temp as low as you can and rack off the sediment.

mannye
05-07-2014, 02:03 PM
I always cold crash/rack then use clearing agents. I will often do these things back to back just allowing the must to come up to room temp or wait as long as a few weeks between cold crash and super Kleer.

Especially for a BOMM where I'm wanting to get to drinking it ASAP. Bentonite as a clearing agent isn't my favorite as the lees are fluffy and disturbed by any little thing. I can't even imagine in a one gallon carboy how much loss there would be.

Sent from my galafreyan transdimensional communicator 100 years from now. G

Marshmallow Blue
05-07-2014, 02:24 PM
I used bentonite on a 1 gallon traditional and didn't get the aforementioned fluff, but YMMV I guess. No experience with Super-Kleer yet as the bentonite has served me well.

mannye
05-07-2014, 04:06 PM
I should get paid by Super Kleer I swear, but the product is really the best. I've never seen anything work so quickly.

ReadMead
05-07-2014, 07:23 PM