PDA

View Full Version : Question from a complete newbee

Bec
06-25-2014, 11:03 AM
Out of pure curiosity and with no prior mead making experience, I have done the following:

Boiled about 1/3 of a cup of honey with 750ml of water for 5 minutes.
Activated an old pack of dry bread yeast (about a flat tablespoon) with a little warm water and sugar until it was frothy.
Put the cooled honey/water combo and yeast into a sterilised 750ml wine bottle and then put a balloon with pin pricks in it over the top to seal the bottle.

The yeast seems to be working as there is a lot of bubble action even hours later and the balloon is full of air (not fully inflated - just standing upright full of air) and if I push the air out through the pin holes it keeps filling up with air again.

If I just leave it as is for about two months without touching it or doing anything will I end up with alcoholic drinkable mead?

I know this is rudimentary but I'm genuinely curious as to whether a one step method this simple would actually work.

At this very early stage it smells a bit like sweet beer.

Thanks in advance for any advice and insight.

loveofrose
06-25-2014, 02:58 PM
You will end up with a dry hydromel in the 5% range. As far as drinkable timeframe, I really couldn't guess. It will probably be very thin tasting. I usually use 2-3x the honey you used.

Better brewing through science!

mannye
06-25-2014, 07:12 PM