PDA

View Full Version : New Guy

Wildkatt
07-10-2014, 10:10 AM
OK my wife is a bee keeper. Of course im allergic to bees (dont Figger) But i suit up and help with the heavy lifting. Up until now have been using honey for cooking and so on. Now i want to make me some mead so im looking for Sweet mead recipes haven't decided whether im doing a 1 gal. brew or a 3 gal. brew but i have honey and equipment and the complete Mead makers book. so any info is going to be helpful. I think my bigest boogle is yeast. what yeast is best for a sweet desert type mead. Dont like dry winey tasting mead like it thick and sweet.

Katt

PapaScout
07-10-2014, 10:32 AM
Hi Katt. I just joined too. Very cool that you have such easy access to good honey.

Ironpapa40
07-10-2014, 10:36 AM
I'm a novice but I have several batches under my belt and a whole lot of research. And I did stay at a holiday inn express once!
There's no exact yeast per se for a sweet mead. You have two options:
1) Put an amount of honey in that is greater than what the yeast can eat, thus leaving residual sweetness (unpredictable and not as reliable)
OR
2) Ferment completely dry, stabilize and add honey back to the desired sweetness level.

The second option I find is the most reliable and the one I've seen used the most. It's what several people advised me to do when I started and it's turned out just fine.

I will let those with more experience give the advice on which yeast to use.

Marshmallow Blue
07-10-2014, 11:04 AM
I'm a novice but I have several batches under my belt and a whole lot of research. And I did stay at a holiday inn express once!
There's no exact yeast per se for a sweet mead. You have two options:
1) Put an amount of honey in that is greater than what the yeast can eat, thus leaving residual sweetness (unpredictable and not as reliable)
OR
2) Ferment completely dry, stabilize and add honey back to the desired sweetness level.