PDA

View Full Version : Didn't See Anywhere Else For This...

FaerieGodfather
08-16-2014, 11:46 AM
I'm a complete n00blet. Just discovered your website and your forum, and I'm looking forward to being able to make use of the knowledge here some day-- I've never brewed mead before, but I hope to have equipment and honey to do so soon.

Little about me... I'm in my mid-thirties. I'm an author and a game designer, but you wouldn't have heard of anything I've done yet. (Though, if you go to DriveThruCards and search for Cloven Fruit Games, you'll find some of my partners' work.) Disabled, but the government won't admit it, trying to make a living from my pen. I'm Asatru, and both my interest in mead-making and my first taste of mead sprang from that. Among the many businesses I dream of running, I would love to own a beverage company producing various beers, ciders, meads, and soft drinks. I have an unhealthy obsession with cucumbers and pears, kiwi, peppermint, and juniper berries. Also pineapples, spinach, and feta cheese, but I don't want to make beverage out of those.

Chevette Girl
08-16-2014, 01:18 PM
Welcome, welcome, you'll fit right in... (see off-topic discussion about Blood Bowl and there are a few more of us around here into RPG's, my hubby and I have a basement devoted to winemaking and board games of all kinds, do some searching around the forum to see what us other weirdos are up to when we're not elbow-deep in fruit or honey)

I think the best advice I can give a complete n00blet would be to figure out what you like - have you had dry mead as well as the usual sweet? Do you like dry wines? What do you like in a beer?

Check out the Newbee Guide and do forum searches on the ingredients you think you want to use.

Then come ask the nice folks at Gotmead how to make something you like. There's nothing quite like being stuck with 5 gallons of something you worked really hard on and are loath to pour down the drain, but can't stand to drink :p