PDA

View Full Version : SNA with Boiled Yeast, and other NewBee Questions

ayrlander
08-29-2014, 11:38 AM
Hello all! I'm new to meadmaking, having made a JAOM last fall. I unintentionally made a dessert mead, using 3lbs 8oz of honey in a one gallon batch. I didn't take gravity readings, but it's extremely sweet. I've still gotten rave reviews, though, and have had one person gnashing his teeth that I don't currently have more in the pipeline.

I'd like to make a few other batches now, but making a medium traditional mead. My difficulty is I want to make a kosher mead, but several common ingredients found from searching here aren't kosher. For example, out of the nutrients, I've only found "Fermaid-K (Kosher)", a variant that I can't actually find for sale anywhere, it's just listed on Scott Labs website as existing. I've found Superfood (http://thevintnervault.com/product/1344/Superfood.html), which is repackaged from a bigger batch that was certified kosher, which might be okay, but not my preference. And none of the 5g packages of Lalvin yeasts are kosher, only the 500g blocks (which is a bit much for novice), so I'm limited to Red Star or liquid yeasts.

So with that said, I've developed a recipe after reading through the FAQ here and much searching. I'm hoping for a medium mead, FG of 1.010, ABV around 13% (based on the tolerance of the above listed yeasts), so if I messed up any quantities, I would appreciate a correction.

2lbs 11oz Honey (I'm making a few batches, each with a different type of honey to compare)
Yeast: Either Red Star Montrachet or Cotes des Blancs, rehydrated in 2oz water at 100F
Boiled Yeast: 4g Fleishmann's Instant Dry Yeast boiled in 8oz water for 15 minutes
Water: Enough to bring my level up to the 1 gallon mark on my fermentation jug