PDA

View Full Version : Hi

Tuck
09-01-2014, 09:56 AM
Hi, noob user and mead maker here.

I made a batch of mead 2 years ago. Did a lot of things wrong, but managed to turn out, what I thought to be a decent mead. Last week I discovered a bottle that I'd forgotten about which was about 2 years old. This stuff was AMAZING.

I'm getting ready to take another crack at it, but want to do a lot of things right this time. Starting with getting the the proportions right.

I've been called a lot of things in my life, smart isn't one of them. :)

The Gotmead Calculator confuses me. I want to make a REALLY high gravity sweet mead. Could someone give me a blow by blow on how to work this out on the calculator.

I've been brewing beer for about 3 years now, and I've got a decent grasp on how fermentation works, and the role that yeast plays in the process. So I'm semi technoliterate.

Thanks for your time

mannye
09-01-2014, 11:49 AM
I'm very much like you in the way I make mead. I tend to go more with a recipe than a formula (so I often "wing it")

Even winging it you need to have your hydrometer in order for this to work.

What you are going to go is make a BOMM... Look up the BOMM recipe and make that... it's easy as falling off a log. THEN

What you are going to do is "step feed" the BOMM to make it go high ABV... When you make your BOMM you going to watch it with the hydrometer until it gets to 1.010.. then you add honey. The amount you add depends on the amount you're making 1, 3 or 5 gallons. You can look up what people add but usually it's about half a pound to a pound of honey with each feed per gallon. What I do is I take the honey and dilute it with a tiny bit of water just make it easier to stir in to the main batch.