PDA

View Full Version : How does one change the the byline that appears after your name?



edblanford
09-04-2014, 10:48 AM
I wish to drop the byline "Ed the Mead Maker" and use one that is more appropriate. How change this be done?

icedmetal
09-04-2014, 11:36 AM
If you click on my profile at the top of the page, then click edit profile in the column of links on the left, you can click a checkbox to reset your byline or change it.

GntlKnigt1
09-04-2014, 11:54 AM
I think you have to be a patron to do it

edblanford
09-04-2014, 12:39 PM
icedmetal: I do not have an edit link on the left.

GntlKnigt1: You mean that Patrons can but Premium Patrons cannot?

GntlKnigt1
09-04-2014, 01:51 PM
Sure....premium patrons are minor deities...

edblanford
09-04-2014, 02:27 PM
LOL, not in my book or experience!

icedmetal
09-04-2014, 05:30 PM
Hmm, yeah, it was under Settings at the top of the page, then edit profile on the settings page. Looks like you found it though :)

edblanford
09-04-2014, 05:38 PM
Nope, Vicky changed it for me. Seems the button is missing, so has been added to her list. Thanks all who tried to help and to Vicky who did it!

Chevette Girl
09-04-2014, 08:02 PM
Thanks, when my patroncy lapsed last week it reset to the default... turns out you're a venerable something queen when you have over 7k posts... So after I got the payment cleared up with Vicky, it reset to the new default and I went looking to change it back and couldn't find it!

icedmetal
09-05-2014, 11:04 AM
...but, I've found the page twice now, while trying to give directions. For my account at least, the ability to change your byline exists...

edblanford
09-05-2014, 12:32 PM
This difference may increase Vicky's challenge! Seems some can and some can't.

danr
09-06-2014, 01:38 PM
For me, it was under the heading, Custom User Title:



Settings (top right corner of page).
Edit Profile (in My Settings sidebar menu).
Custom User Title (Optional Information header).


Now I just need to think of something clever to write.

-Dan

edblanford
09-06-2014, 02:56 PM
Thanks danr. It is there for me too. Also answers my next question "How do I add a signature file", so I will not need to ask that!