PDA

View Full Version : First Time Brewing - Confused about Fermentation (can it happen twice?)

MiPenga
09-11-2014, 07:01 PM
Hello Everyone,

This is my first time brewing anything, but I wanted to start with mead.

I started this project on 8/2/2014 and prior to that, spent a few hours watching different instructional videos about brewing mead, and scouring around reading different resources to give me an idea of what I was about to get into.

The part that I'm confused about right now is... to me, it seems like my mead fermented, cleared up, then began fermenting again and became cloudy for a second time. This doesn't make sense to me. I thought the best way I could show you what I mean is by posting some pictures I've taken at various intervals during this process.

Picture # 1 (http://i.imgur.com/3qKcfRD.jpg) - This is a picture of the mead on day 1.

Picture # 2 (http://i.imgur.com/fRn9gIh.jpg) - This picture was taken on 8/28/2014 and things were seemingly pretty clear at this point. I was able to see the bottoms of my oranges through the glass. At the time, fermentation appeared to have stopped, and no bubbles were coming up.

Picture # 3 - (http://i.imgur.com/BqOT09J.jpg) - This picture was taken today, 9/11/2014, for the purposes of posting what things currently look like. Things have been looking like this since about 9/4/2014.

Picture # 4 (http://i.imgur.com/Xqe7MQ8.jpg) - This is a close-up of the bubbles as they are currently.

Could someone tell me what's going on here please? Is something wrong with the mead? Did I screw something up somehow?