PDA

View Full Version : Apple cider

macbeth_dANk
09-13-2014, 07:21 PM
If apple cider is pasteurized will it affect the process

brentG
09-13-2014, 07:47 PM
From what I've read, pasteurized is fine. The important thing is to make sure there aren't sorbates or preservatives or anything other than ascorbic acid.
I'm a noob though, and have a lot to learn. Maybe someone with more experience can chime in.
I did make a batch of apple wine with pasteurized juice, and it turned out. I also recently started another one with frozen pineapple juice. Time will tell.

macbeth_dANk
09-13-2014, 09:10 PM
Yea I ran into the k probate already, pasteurization is mainly heating so I figured it wouldn't, I'm a noob as well. Thanks man

Bee Serious
09-14-2014, 09:46 AM
If you ever do heat it to pasteurize, I have heard to use pectic enzyme to help clear the haze - I use it, and it seems to help clear it, but that could be more a function of long conditioning time.

Last year, I made two batches of cider from the same juice from the same trees. One batch I "pasteurized" by heating to ~155 and cooling with a wort chiller. The other I just juiced and crossed my fingers. The non-pasteurized turned out much better. I think that heating does change the flavor...

bernardsmith
09-14-2014, 11:23 AM
If you ever do heat it to pasteurize, I have heard to use pectic enzyme to help clear the haze - I use it, and it seems to help clear it, but that could be more a function of long conditioning time.

Last year, I made two batches of cider from the same juice from the same trees. One batch I "pasteurized" by heating to ~155 and cooling with a wort chiller. The other I just juiced and crossed my fingers. The non-pasteurized turned out much better. I think that heating does change the flavor...