PDA

View Full Version : Mead in Saudi?

Bigdurian
09-20-2014, 02:40 PM
Hi there, I'm new to the forum and this is my first post and I'm looking for some advice. I've been making beer, wine, and cider for a couple of years now with good results. As you might have guessed from the thread title I live in Saudi so my set-up is very basic, no flash equipment, no funky yeasts. I just use a big plastic water bottle and bread yeast. I want to give mead a go so does anyone have any tips? I have some 100% honey, bread yeast and a water bottle. Anybody done it in a similar way? Everything else I've brewed has turned out very well.

Honeyhog
09-20-2014, 03:09 PM
Search for Joe's Ancient Orange Mead (JAOM) it uses bread yeast and everything else you need can be obtained from a local market, eg. Orange, nutmeg, cinnamon, raisins. Follow the recipe and you will have a drinkable beverage in 8-9 weeks and if you leave it longer it gets better. Now I don't particularly like fermented orange and there are many variations that use other fruits but most suggest to make the JAOM first strictly according to the recipe and they are for the most part very pleased with the results.

kudapucat
09-21-2014, 06:38 AM
JAO is your best bet.
Warning, it packs a punch, not the sort of drink if you plan on going out after.
The bread yeast will serve you well, and the water bottle will be fine.
I assume you crack it just a little to allow the gas out? Or maybe use a ballon?
The process is similar to wine, so following the recipe, it will be pretty simple for you.
Good luck.

Bigdurian
09-21-2014, 01:49 PM
I normally leave the cap a third of a screw undone, a lot of people here just put a condom over the top. I prefer the cap because when I shake I really do shake and with the condom you would have to take it off and put a cap on. With me, the cap never comes off completely till I rack it off. Don't know what difference it makes but I've never had a bad batch yet apart from my first two.