PDA

View Full Version : first try-right way?

seEu
10-03-2014, 05:26 AM
Greeting to all! :icon_salut::icon_salut:

I am new to making mead and on 30-09 I pitched my first batch of mead.

Here is the recipe I used

1 gallon of well water
3 pounds of raw honey (Acacia)
3/4 package of Lalvin D47 (5g)
4-5 g yeast nutrient(Maxaferm dsm)

I took about half water and mix it with honey and heated it to 140 F, than pour it in carboy and let it cool to room temperature. When it was cooled I pour the left of the water and nutrient and mix it. Than I put yeast in 2 cups of heated water ( 105-109 F), leave it for 15 min and than pitcehd in carboy, put airlock and leave it in dark room at 60-68 F.

- I couldnt find 1 gallon carboy (Im from Europe) and since I had 5 liter (1,3 gall) carboy it left some space (air) in the bottle (0,3 gall). Not sure if thats ok?
- also had problem with sanitizing equipment, couldnt purchase any cleanser so I bought citric acid powder at local winery equipment store and washed it up..?

Fermentation did not started in 24 hrs, so I did a few minutes of stirring and it started to bubble through airlock when I put it back on. Next day, after cca 10 hrs it was still bubbling (1 bubble per 5 sec). I checked it again after 48 hrs from pitching and there was no bubbles in airlock The foam was gone. I took the airlock off, added 1-2 grams of nutrient and stirring it few minutes. Again there was bubbles in the airlock but for a short time. After 60 hrs again i see no bubbles although I can hear it bubbling very very quietly through the carboy.

Now what?
Should I put some more nutrients or adding tea leaves?
Or just let it boil quietly?

Didnt do any measurement before (ph, gravity), still waiting for rest of the equipment to arrive..

Stasis
10-03-2014, 07:08 AM
My first concern is that you tried to wake your yeast in water that is too hot. I read many times that D47 prefers cooler temps. I never tried the yeast myself but Lalvin states: